Minutes City of Mechanicsville SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING February 25, 2020

The Mechanicsville City Council met in special session on Tuesday, February 25, 2020 at City Hall. Mayor David Furry called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Council members present for roll call were Dee Taylor, Amy Bishop, Adam Paidar and Jennifer Lester. Andrew Oberbreckling was absent. Others present included Tyler Bauer, Kerry Meyer, Jill and Ryan Hill, Pat Albaugh, Eric & Denice Dochterman, Donna Paup, Brian Horak, Sadie Stabenow, Julie Caspers, Carla Barnhart, Sally Boots, and Russ Strabala.

CONSENT AGENDA: Amy Bishop motioned, Adam Paidar seconded to approve the consent agenda including the agenda and the minutes from 2/10/20. Roll call vote: Ayes: Taylor, Bishop, Lester and Paidar. Nays: None. Absent: Oberbreckling. Motion carried.

Receive visitors/public comment. Council listened to additional questions and comments stated by the citizens present pertaining to the rezoning of the "pasture area" from agriculture to commercial use and the proposed extension of East Cedar Street. Developer responded to most questions asked and proposed donating the land needed for the street in return for the city paying for the rock and maintain as well as to help haul the rock and leveling it out.

Public Hearing on the Maximum Proposed Property Tax Levy Rate: At the public hearing any resident or taxpayer may present objections to, or arguments in favor of the proposed tax levy for fiscal year July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021. The Mayor opened the public hearing on the Maximum Proposed Property Tax Levy Rate. There were no written or oral comments received. Dee Taylor motioned, Adam Paidar seconded to close the public hearing. Ayes all. Hearing was closed.

Resolution approving the FY21 Maximum Property Tax Dollars: Jennifer Lester, motioned, Adam Paidar seconded to adopt the resolution approving the FY21 Maximum Property Tax for the affected levy, whereas the notice was published as required and posted on web site, the public hearing was held, and therefore resolved that the maximum property tax dollars for the affected tax levies for FY21 shall not exceed \$12.35062. Roll call vote: Ayes: Taylor, Bishop, Lester and Paidar. Nays: None. Absent: Oberbreckling. Resolution Adopted.

Set Public Hearing on Proposed Budget March 9, 6:00 p.m.: Dee Taylor motioned, Jennifer Lester seconded to set the public hearing on the proposed budget for March 9 at 6:00 p.m. Ayes all. Motion carried.

Ordinance for no parking on either side of E South Street at dead end: Residents present voiced concerns over having both sides of the street identified as no parking as opposed to having just one side be no parking. Residents who live on the north side offered to relocate mailboxes to the south side of the street or to get a post office box, if

the council would amend the reading to be no parking on one of the sides, instead of both. Amy Bishop motioned, Jennifer Lester seconded, to approve amending the 1st reading of the ordinance pertaining to No Parking Zones to have item 15 read E South Street on south side from Walnut Street to the east end of street. Ayes all. Absent: Oberbreckling. Motion carried.

Ordinance to change zoning from A-1 to C-2: Adam Paidar motioned, Jennifer Lester seconded to approve the second reading of the ordinance to change the zoning. Ayes: Lester, Taylor, and Paidar. Nays: Bishop. Absent: Oberbreckling. Motion carried for the second reading to be approved.

Authorize Skywalk Group (Human Resource Consulting to review handbook 4-6 hours: Amy Bishop motioned, Dee Taylor seconded to approve the statement of work to be done by Skywalk Group. Ayes all. Oberbreckling absent. Motion approved.

Police interviews: Postponed until 3/9/20 due to original weather forecast predicting large snowfall amounts.

Set next meeting date: 03/9/20 6:00 p.m.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the Council at this time, council member Dee Taylor motioned, Jennifer Lester seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:13 p.m. Ayes all. Meeting adjourned.

ATTEST:		
Linda K. Coppess, MMC	David L. Furry, Mayor	